20 July 2006

Local Transport Authority of the Year (no its not Plymouth!)

Publisher: Ian MorganPublished: 20/07/2006 - Full story:
Devon notches national honour
Devon County Council has won the nation's top transport 'Oscar' to become Local Transport Authority of the Year. The use of public transport has grown dramatically in Devon in recent years with bus patronage increasing from 18.2 million passengers in 2003/04 to 20.1 million in 2005/06.
Popular routes include the multi-award winning CoastlinX53, which runs along the stunning Jurassic Coast World Heritage Site. This has seen passenger numbers grow dramatically from less that 30,000 in 1998 to nearly 300,000 a year.Park and Ride services in Exeter are also increasingly popular.
In 2004/05 there was a 30.7% growth in passenger numbers across the three services and now over one million people use Park and Ride every year. Thanks to re-branding and extra investment, passenger numbers on the Culm Valley bus service 1 and 1b from Exeter to the surrounding Cullompton area have increased by 26.53%.

"The Department of Transport has designated the County Council as a 'Centre of Excellence for Local Transport' for the period 2006 - 2011. This comes on the back of being a 'Centre of Excellence for Local Transport Planning' for the past five years.
"Devon is one of only four highway authorities in the country to be designated a centre of excellence for the full 10 year period.

Congratulations to Devon County Council. I have often mentioned on this site how they seem to be doing a good job and how well they work with Stagecoach Devon in particular - but also other operators as well to the benefit of all passengers who live in Devon. Of course Plymouth is not part of Devon. Funny how they never get awards like this isnt it?

No comments:

Post a Comment

Have something interesting to say? Please share it here!

(Moderation is currently switched on so please allow a short while before your comment appears on the site. This is only to cut down on spam - not to cut out people who disagree with me!)